All about me

I was born at the tail end of the sixties.

I am Australian.

I have lived in England since 1997.

I have two undergraduate degrees.

I have worked in public health, research, banking, finance, insurance, retail and hospitality.

I have volunteered my time and effort for various causes.

I have travelled on every continent except Antarctica.

I am a bit overweight but otherwise healthy. I have access to healthcare.

I like to read. A lot.

I do not like reality TV.

I do not like people, as a species. Some of their behaviours baffle me.

I try to make choices based on what I want rather than what ‘society’ expects.

I am married but we are childless by choice because we like to travel.

In order to travel we have managed to avoid the yoke of a mortgage.

Since we travel and rent we cannot have a dog.

I can obtain anything I want with minimal effort, usually by buying it.

I have a bit of a struggle with avoiding consumerism and managing materialism.

As I get older I appreciate the benefits of living a simple life.

I try to practice mindfulness and minimalism.

I like the idea of being a free spirit but I am quite conservative in practice.

Is it possible to be a conservative free spirit?

I am a wannabe writer and photographer. ‘Wannabe’ because I to need more practice in order to ‘be’ a writer and photographer.

I want to record my thoughts so that I can look back and remember. Or perhaps, to look back and be proud?

Perhaps I want other people to like me? Do they like me? Will other people appreciate my efforts? What is there to appreciate?

I can get a bit paranoid.

I am forgetful.

I procrastinate.

I am impatient.

I have the attention span of a goldfish and get distracted easily.

I spend time writing notes in my diary and compiling to-do lists.

I embody first world privilege.

I suffer only first world problems.

I hope that I am more than the sum of my parts.

My husband says that I am too hard on myself.

Despite my age I am still trying to find my purpose in life.

I am hoping to discover a passion that will burn brightly.

I have everything that I need to be happy – except a dog.

So when will I feel happy?

Time is short.

©SD Wheelock

Leave a Reply

